Fieldwork in an era of pandemia: digital (and other) alternatives – Webinar of  the World Council of Anthropological Associations 

      Comentários fechados em Fieldwork in an era of pandemia: digital (and other) alternatives – Webinar of  the World Council of Anthropological Associations 

Fieldwork in an era of pandemia: digital (and other) alternatives

Tuesday 19 May, 13:00 UTC
11pm Sydney; 10pm Tokyo; 6:30pm Delhi; 2pm London/Lisbon; 9am NYC; 8am Mexico City; 6am LA/Vancouver

Participants

Convenor: Clara Saraiva (WCAA and APA); Host: Michel Bouchard (WCAA)
Australia: Pamela McGrath (Australian National )
Japan: Shiaki Kondo (Hokkaido University)
India: Nandini Sundar (Delhi School of Economics, Delhi University)
UK: Daniel Miller (University College London)
Mexico: Rosalda Aida Hernandez (Centro de Investigaciones y Estudios Superiores en Antropologia Social)

Specific questions for discussion:

(1) What technology is there to allow anthropologists to do research/fieldwork when we cannot do face-to-face participant observation?

(2) What are advantages and disadvantages to interviewing people online?

(3) Should we reconsider “armchair” anthropology?

(4) How could we access unpublished data that we could work on while in a pandemic?

(5) Should we reconsider large data sets or surveys?

Imagens relacionadas: